Department of Homeland Security

Learn more about the Department of Homeland Security and how it promotes investment in the United States

Seal of the Department of Homeland Security

The Department of Homeland Security’s duties are wide-ranging – from preventing terrorism and enhancing security; managing U.S. borders; administering immigration laws; securing cyberspace; and ensuring disaster resilience.

Read More About DHS

Mission: With honor and integrity, we will safeguard the American people, our homeland, and our values.

Investment-related Resources

DHS is focused on smart and effective enforcement of U.S. immigration laws while streamlining and facilitating the legal immigration process.  DHS is also responsible for securing U.S. air, land, and sea borders to prevent illegal activity while facilitating lawful travel and trade.

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services - Employment-Based Immigration

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) is the government agency that oversees lawful immigration to the United States. USCIS issues several different kinds of visas, including permanent worker visas, numbered 1 through 5 (based on preference). These are:

First Preference - EB-1
Applies to individuals able to demonstrate extraordinary ability or international acclaim, or employment outside the United States in an executive or managerial capacity


Learn More About EB-1

Second Preference - EB-2
Applies to individuals with: advanced degrees; exceptional abilities the sciences, arts, or business; and National Interest Waivers


Learn More About EB-2

Third Preference - EB-3
Applies to skilled workers, professionals, and individuals who perform unskilled labor requiring less than two years of training or experience (and not of a temporary or seasonal nature)

Learn More About EB-3

Fourth Preference - EB-4

Applies to “special immigrants” who meet specific USCIS criteria


Learn More About EB-4

Fifth Preference - EB-5
Applies to entrepreneurs and their families. Eligibility hinges on the individual’s plan to create or preserve 10 or more permanent full-time jobs for qualified U.S. workers

Learn More About EB-5

Resources from U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services

Learn about U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), an organization within the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, which oversees lawful immigration to the United States.

Download (38MB)